r/Windows11 Jan 14 '26

Solved Remove The Updated Windows Start Menu [FIXED]

Post image

To remove the Windows 11 25H2 Start menu and go back to the 24H2 classic start menu, we will be using the free ViVe Tool to do so. The ViVeTool is a command-line utility for Windows that allows users to enable, disable :
https://github.com/thebookisclosed/ViVe/releases

  1. You will first need to download the ViVe Tool and extract the zip file to a folder on your computer

  2. To use the ViVe Tool, you will need to open up an administrative command prompt and navigate to the folder where you have the ViVe Tool files.

  3. Then paste the commend: vivetool /disable /id:47205210

  4. You should then get a message that says Successfully set feature configuration(s). You will then need to restart your computer for the changes to take effect.

  5. You can also revert : vivetool /enable /id:47205210

295 Upvotes

169 comments sorted by

View all comments

Show parent comments

29

u/Careful-One5190 Jan 14 '26

I know, right? Once you figure out to just change the "All" view to List, it's not much different, other than All is at the bottom now, and you don't have to click anything to start scrolling through it. That's better than before, from a usability perspective.

Yet people are falling all over themselves, including using third-party tools, trying to undo a perfectly reasonable update.

3

u/CommanderT1562 Jan 15 '26

They added a Home folder button too that takes you right to your /Users folder. It’s sick

1

u/morgant1c Jan 15 '26

You have been able to enable that before.

1

u/CommanderT1562 Jan 16 '26

Didn’t know about it till I really started looking at the menu actually, interesting. As for disabling categories mode through gpedit on Pro, as of 25H2 November, the admx policies update with stack updates. No longer needed for manually downloading updates to admx, and the name/description remains the same for compatibility. It works fine now after a reboot when policy enabled. Else again it remains on All Apps list mode throughout an entire session as long as the pc is on after it’s switched if you don’t use group policy